“The Hunger Games”

February 11, 2009 at 7:12 pm | Posted in Fiction, Young Adult Fiction | 3 Comments

Wow!

I ate up The Hunger Games with a big spoon.  It was so exciting, I about lost my mind.  I actually considered taking a vacation day from work so I could finish it sooner.  Then I wound up staying up until 1:30 AM on Friday night to finish it.  Now, I read a lot, but I almost never get this wrapped up in a book.

Trish at Hey Lady!  Whatcha Readin’? had the book on her hold list at the library.  I finished soon enough that I was able to lend my copy to her before I had to turn it in.  She just came running in squealing about it, and she’s only about 80 pages in!  I think we can expect a similar glowing review from her soon.

I’m going to buy this for Sweetie Junior the next time we go on a road trip.  It’s better to wait a bit, because the sequel isn’t coming out until September and it’s just cruel to get her hooked and then make her wait.  Thanks, Suzanne Collins.  The suspense is killing me!

The Hunger Games is a young adult book.  It’s pretty dark, and there is plenty of violence.  But the language would pass Sweetie Junior’s blushing radar.  Heartily recommended.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Both Eyes Book Blog […]

  2. […] The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins reviewed by Jessica at Both Eyes Book Blog. Jessica writes: “Wow!  I ate up The Hunger Games with a big spoon.  It was so exciting, I about lost my mind.  I actually considered taking a vacation day from work so I could finish it sooner.” […]

  3. the hunger games is the best book since twilight. it is the bomb. you so have to read it.
    -jules 😉


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.