“Far to Go”

August 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment

Moving along through the Booker Prize long list, my second contender is Far to Go by Alison Pick.

Product Details

I have to confess that I found it slow going at first.  If it weren’t a Booker book, it would actually have failed the 40-page rule.  What makes this book work is the careful character development and the unforgettable moral premise.  This would make a good discussion starter for a book group.

I’m not betting on Far to Go for the short list, but Pick is an author to watch.

The Last Hundred Days and The Sense of an Ending finally came in the mail.  The Amazon.UK books reliably come about two weeks sooner than the ETA they give.  Now I have access to all 13 titles, and I just have to read them!  I’ve started Jamrach’s Menagerie, I’m on page 9, and I’m completely swept away.  I had to make myself put it down so I could post this and stay current.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I liked this one but I didn’t love it. I agree Pick is an author to watch, and I also concur I’ll be surprised if it makes the shortlist.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

