Booker Long List!

August 16, 2011 at 10:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

It’s Booker time, kids, and you know what that means!  I’m going to try to read through them all before the short list is announced on September 6 and then guess which titles will make the cut.  I missed last year but I’ve beat the odds in the past and I’ve done a little better each time.  I’ve even guessed the winner before without having read it.

As you can see, I have 10 of the 13 titles.  The Last Hundred Days is back-ordered.  My Amazon UK books all came early after a delivery date of 8/31, which is good because my days of reading 1806 pages in six days are probably behind me.  I have Snowdrops on reserve and… I just realized that I somehow forgot to order The Sense of an Ending!  Ye gads, that won’t do.

I’m nearly done with Pigeon English and really enjoying it.  I’ll review each book as I go, though I must say it will be a challenge while trying to finish my own manuscript.

Any Booker-related news, opinions, or speculation?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you’re joining in Booker mania! I’ve read two so far (Pigeon English, which wasn’t my personal favorite, and The Sisters Brothers, which was funny and entertaining but not necessarily Booker-ish.) I am thoroughly enjoying Far to Go and On Canaan’s Side (due to mistakenly putting the wrong one in my purse, I was forced to start it before I finished the other. I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts!

    • I take it you’re a one-book-at-a-time gal too? I used to read several books at a time, but I get so much more out of my reading since I consolidated.

      I just finished Pigeon English last night and I thought it was fantastic! I’ll review it tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

