“Before I Go to Sleep”

August 11, 2011 at 10:35 pm | Posted in Fiction | 6 Comments

This book is a suspense masterpiece.  If S. J. Watson can produce a book like Before I Go to Sleep as a debut, then we can look forward to great things in store.

Product Details

This was one of the best books I have read this year.  It strikes that perfect pitch of slightly gothic unease, mystery, plot twists, and a deeply affecting central character.  Amnesia is the theme, but I really can’t say much else without spoiling it.

One thing I will say is that I assumed the author was a woman until I had finished the book.  You know I have a fixation with author photos, and suddenly it struck me that I hadn’t seen one and didn’t know the author’s first name.  I looked on Amazon and, surprise surprise, “S. J.” is a man.  This matters to me because I don’t often think men write women well.  This is the very first time I would have believed a male author writing a woman character was actually a fellow female.  Well done.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I picked it up today on your say-so…

    • Thank you so much for telling me that! It always makes me happy when I can share a book. Come back and let me know what you thought.

  2. It’s on my list. I have to say that I’ve read a number of books on your say-so. In fact, I’m currently reading Your Money, or Your Life because of you. Thanks!

    • *gasp* Everybody! Quick! Run out and get a copy of YMOYL and we can all have a savers team.

      • I’ve got to head out to the garage and find my copy!

  3. Bybee, you keep books in your garage? X-D


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

