“A Discovery of Witches”

May 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

This book is going to start something.  I’m betting it’s going to be a great, and hopefully long running, series.  If you love Diana Gabaldon and Harry Potter, you’ll most likely enjoy Deborah Harkness and A Discovery of Witches.

Product Details

Harkness is a learned lady.  This book has layers of science, history, biography, and linguistics that are just as fascinating as the story line.  I’m not particularly big on fantasy, but I really enjoyed the way Harkness built a realistic world including witches, vampires, and other fantasy beings.

The highlight of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series is the relationship between Claire and Jamie, two believable characters whom we can imagine meeting.  Diana and Matthew have a similar potential.  (Is ‘Diana’ named in homage to Gabaldon?)  Romance isn’t for me, but I dug this book anyway.  It is fully entitled to its 600-ish pages.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A friend of mine recently finished this book and RAVED about it. I can’t wait to borrow his copy (he’s currently letting his mom read it, darn it! hehe) so I can read this book I’ve been hearing so many great things about.

  2. I do love Harry Potter, and I am posed to like Diana as well. I just purchased OUTLANDER. If that goes well, I think I’ll pick this one up too.

  3. I’ve heard about this book, seems to be a good one, must check it out.

  4. I also noticed the similarity to Outlander and even wondered about the name Diana. While I am enjoying this read, the Outlander series is very dear to my heart and I feel is much better. I’m glad someone else shared what I was thinking! A bit of Twilight in there too.

  5. […] Book Blog, We Read To Know, Cheryl’s Book Nook, Book Twirps, Reading With Tequila, Book Sake, Both Eyes Book Blog, Amy’s Book Obsession, La Deetda Reads, Tif Talks Books, Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog, My […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

