“The Passage”

July 15, 2010 at 12:48 pm | Posted in Fiction | 6 Comments

I read The Passage with huge anticipation.  Perhaps that was the problem.  Justin Cronin writes beautifully, and the cover art is some of the most beautiful I think I’ve ever seen.  Sigh…

Product Details

It just didn’t grab me.  I kept pushing ahead, thinking that any time now it would pay off.  I love long books, and I’ve always been intrigued by apocalyptic stories.  I simply didn’t find any of the characters emotionally engaging.  This book would probably make a pretty great blockbuster movie, and Cronin will probably go on to write a prize-winning novel.  For me, though, the plot of this particular one was somewhat pointless.

I would recommend Stephen King’s The Stand as the archetypal apocalypse story, and Guillermo del Toro’s The Strain as a pulse-pounding alternative vampire thriller.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hate it when that happens. I am having that same feeling with ‘The Guardian’ by Nicholas Sparks. I am halfway through the book and absolutely nothing out of the ordinary has happened other than a few dates, and the presence of a slightly creepy boyfriend. Yawn Yawn Yawn. A glacier moves faster than this plot! Yet giving up is impossible now, since the final third of the book could (I hope) be the turning point and offer a great ending.

  2. I am about halfway through and am still feeling quite meh about the story. I keep hoping that it will grab me, but nothing yet. Hopefully it does eventually… :S

  3. I know this is completely wrong of me to say, but I’m kind of glad to find a review of this book by someone who didn’t enjoy it. I started to feel that this was the must-read of the year and somehow couldn’t feel excited about it.

    • It wasn’t easy to do. I am generally against reviewing books unless I liked them… I figure my readers only want to hear about the good stuff.

  4. I’m only 200 pages in, and it seems fairly derivative of, say, THE STAND, at the moment. Also, I read that the movie rights were purchased before the book was even finished. I’m sure we’ll be seeing the movie soon.

  5. It is rare to find less than glowing reviews for this book it seems! I thought it was just okay… disappointed as I had high expectation too. Here is my review:

    http://mentalfoodie.blogspot.com/2010/06/book-review-passage-by-justin-cronin.html


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

