“The Lonely Polygamist”

June 22, 2010 at 3:52 pm | Posted in Fiction | 9 Comments

It looks like polygamy has popped up in a big way on the cultural radar in the last few years.  The Lonely Polygamist is a fictional account of what life is like for a man with four wives and 28 kids.  Brady Udall dedicates the book to his siblings, and from the length of the list it appears he knows from big families.

Product Details

I really loved this book.  It was cracking me up within the first few pages.  Udall does a great job making the 33-member family real while focusing on a handful of important characters.  Thank goodness he didn’t give all the kids their own chapters!  The Lonely Polygamist was touching and funny, and I didn’t want it to be over.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d like to read this as well as watch the cable show I’ve heard so much about, “Big Love”.

    • My friend is obsessed with that show!

  2. I’m fascinated with polygamy, so I’d probably love this one too.

  3. Have you read The Nineteenth Wife by David Ebershoff? Also centred around Polygamy and the Mormon lifestyle. I’d like to get my hands on this one too though!
    Best Wishes
    SP

    • I haven’t yet, but I probably will.

  4. I’ll freely admit I’ve never understood polygamy–I tend to think it would help a marriage to get away from your spouse once in a while, not to pile on extra ones! Scary.

    Glad you liked this one. I thought it was interesting for the first 100 pages I read but ran into the problem I always have with modern fiction…too long, not enough of a payoff.

  5. […] Jessica at Both Eyes Book Blog found it “touching and funny”, and The Reading Ape enjoyed it as well, especially Udall’s way of lightening the events with his prose. I think my desire for a family epic will be well rewarded, but maybe not so much examining the power dynamic. Still, there’s a lot to look forward to here. […]

  6. I just read this and wrote a review on my blog. It’s a very good read.

  7. […] Both Eyes Book Blog […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

