“The Imperfectionists”

May 13, 2010 at 1:02 pm | Posted in Fiction, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

This is just the most incredibly fantastic book.  Tom Rachman is a new face I’ll definitely be watching out for, because there’s no way a debut like this is a one-off.  The Imperfectionists is going to be one of the best books of this year, and I’ve only said that once this year so far.

Product Details

It’s the story of an English-language newspaper in Rome and the characters who work there.  I do mean ‘characters.’  Each chapter focuses on a different person, with intervals describing the founding of the paper.  By turns endearing, pitiful, sinister, and heartbreaking, these interrelated personal stories twist tighter together until things start to maybe snap a little.

I have to tell you, when you read this (because you must), pop back on here when you are introduced to Snyder.  I was so affected by this character that I had to put the book down for a couple hours and pull myself together.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like I will have to find this one asap. It sounds really good, I can’t miss out on a best book of the year! Planning a book buying ban over the summer, so I better get on it soon 😉

  2. Adding it to the wishlist!

  3. I ordered and read this one on your recommendation, and I loved it! I was a little shocked by the ending, but it was really well done. Thank you for reviewing it!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

