Book Bum

May 11, 2010 at 1:12 pm | Posted in Book Blather, Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Walking up the street, I saw one of San Francisco’s many street people.  He was sitting on the sidewalk, on some bedding, with a “fishing pole” hanging out.  (A stick with a plastic cup hanging from a string, with a clever saying written on it, for the purpose of panhandling).  And do you know what he was doing?

He was reading A Reliable Wife!

Later, I went for a sandwich, and a man came in carrying a little boy of about three years old.  He was singing the alphabet song.  He finished, “double, u, x, and t…”

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would totally give that guy money. And another book if he wanted one! But not the man with the kid. Did he at least correct the kid?

    • I would have given him money, but I’m an unemployed bum too! The best I could have done for him was a used book, if I was even buying those. When I pass by panhandlers, they smile and wave me on. 😛

      The man with the kid didn’t say anything at all. I actually think three years old is a tad early to be expected to get the ABC’s 100%.

  2. That reminds me of Sawyer on “Lost” who grabs up any reading material he can find in the wreckage.

    • Wouldn’t you? It makes me think we should always use newspapers as packaging material just in case Tom Hanks gets stuck on an island and needs something to read.

  3. That reminds me of the blog People Reading – he frequently has street people reading.

  4. Oh I love he was reading A Reliable Wife. I am in San Jose!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

