Guest Post! “The Lost Symbol”

April 21, 2010 at 8:17 pm | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment

My man Rocket Scientist has agreed to take one for the team and review Dan Brown’s latest… offering.  Here he goes:

So, I’ve read all of Dan Brown’s books, and I’ll have to say he hasn’t broken any new ground with this one.  His standard, formulaic incarnation of the protagonist team vs the soon-to-be well-known antagonist has been floated out again in this book.  This is the third book in the “Langdon” series that started with Angels and Demons and continued with The Da Vinci Code.

This book is set in Washington, D.C. and again centers around symbology, numerology, and the Masonic Order.  It takes place in a single night, and basically follows the same formula as the other two books.  Langdon is “befriended” by a woman who then becomes the pseudo-romantic interest.  They are then tormented by the antagonist, who eventually turns out, as in all of his books, to be somebody who is well-known to either Langdon or Langdon’s “friend.”  I don’t want to make a spoiler out of it, so that’s about as much of the plot as I’m going to put out there.

Brown has this cliffhanger style of writing, where every chapter kinda ends with an “Oh my God, I couldn’t believe what I was looking at” kind of ending.  I find it irritating, but at the same time it compelled me to read on in the book.  In one sense I don’t like it, but in another sense I know why he does it.  It definitely keeps the interest flowing.  I’d recommend it to anybody who was interested in secret societies and symbology, but it’s also a fairly light read.  I mean, it’s not very complicated or sophisticated.

I enjoyed the read, it filled up a few nights, but after a few weeks, I’d say it didn’t really leave a lasting impression. It was a fun book to read.  Compared to Three Day Road, which I’m reading now, definitely softball.  I would definitely recommend Three Day Road to anybody who likes a gritty war drama in the vein of All’s Quiet on the Western Front, which is another great book.  Which The Lost Symbol definitely isn’t.  But I think I’ve said enough about The Lost Symbol.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great guest review! I love that Rocket Scientist reads as you do – I need to find a man who reads 🙂 And I completely agree – I can see why he writes with constant cliff hangers but it gets quite annoying.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

