“Going Bovine”

April 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm | Posted in Fiction, Young Adult Fiction | 5 Comments

Our latest Family Reading Hour book, Going Bovine by Libba Bray, was  one of our best choices ever.  I’m pleased to tell you that you don’t have to have a teenager at home to give you an excuse to read it, either.

Product Details

Sweetie Junior remarked early on that “that’s exactly like my high school.”  My man Rocket Scientist, who occasionally has trouble tolerating books that appeal to a 15-year-old girl, instead kept shushing conversational tangents so we could get back to the story.  I had to do all the reading because there are frequent F-bombs (which SJ simply will not read aloud), and there turned out to be a couple of “adult scenes” that would have had her digging her own grave out of embarrassment.  Reading aloud to your family is of an entirely different order than reading to yourself.

This is a really plot-based book.  I’ll describe it as a silly yet touching fantasy road trip that should appeal to everyone who liked Pee Wee’s Great Adventure.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have seen this book mentioned all over the place but for some reason keep passing it by. I might have to check it out, sounds like a good read.

  2. I have started this one twice, only to abandon it after a few chapters. Maybe I need to read it aloud!

    • Reading aloud changes everything about a book. Some really great books, like Siddhartha, are terrible to read aloud, while it’s possible that reading even a mediocre book aloud would make it sound better than it is.

  3. This book, “Going Bovine” is so far my favorite. I just got done reading all 480 pages of it. I love it so much I’m actually naming my new puppy “Dulcie”, after my favorite character in the book.

  4. […] reviews: Fyrefly’s Book Blog | Juiciliciousss Reviews | Em’s Bookshelf | Both Eyes Book Blog | The Book Reader | Mrs Magoo Reads | YAnnabe | Kay’s […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

