“Beautiful Creatures”

March 30, 2010 at 1:52 pm | Posted in Fiction | 3 Comments

Guilty pleasure alert!  Beautiful Creatures is the book Twilight should have been.  If you loved Twilight and just haven’t been able to hit that spot since then, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl are going to do their best to reach it.

Product Details

While the two books are remarkably alike in many ways, I don’t think the authors set out to accomplish that particularly.  There are: fated high school romances in which one partner comes from an occult family; a strongly realized regional atmosphere; black cover art; many hundreds of pages; and generally that certain something that tends to generate rabid fans.  The most important difference is that Beautiful Creatures is better written.

I have two nitpicks that I simply feel bound to share.  One is that there is a crossword puzzle motif that tends to indicate the authors aren’t big puzzle solvers.  For instance, in this book, “8 down” would mean the word had eight letters, rather than that it’s the eighth clue.  Why not just say “eight-letter word meaning x“?  The other nitpick is a major scene involving Civil War reenactors supposely using live rounds in battle.  And that’s just silly.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I liked this book too, though, I have to admit… not as much as Twilight. Heh. I don’t know what it is, this book is written much better but it just didn’t draw me in as much.

  2. I’ve been spotting this on the shelf lately and my eyes keep stealing glances at the cover (it is quite gothic and pretty). I think I may have to give this one a go.

    Also, I the cover of Hush, Hush looks intriguing. Have you come across that YA novel?

    -Lydia

    • No, but I just looked at the review on Amazon. Not sure my little bunny would be in to it, but I might check it out.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

