“A Friend of the Family”

March 12, 2010 at 3:27 pm | Posted in Fiction | 6 Comments

This is going to be one of the best reads of 2010.  I say this confidently, knowing it’s only March.  Trust me, drop everything and grab Lauren Grodstein’s A Friend of the Family.

Product Details

Gosh, I don’t want to spoil anything for you – there are two mysteries in this book filled with dark foreboding.  I will say it’s a tragedy about a man brought down by his own flaws.  Grodstein’s elegant, measured prose somehow gallops along; I read this book in one five-hour sitting.  I’ll bet a dollar this will be made into a movie, and most likely a great one.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. On the strength of this recommendation alone, I’m ordering this off of Amazon as we speak! Thanks!

  2. I’ll take your word on this…the book, the wow factor, the future movie…everything.

  3. It’s been added to the black hole that is the wishlist – though the shorter one 🙂

  4. Oh, the trepidation that results when someone else spends money based on something I said! I hope you like it as much as I did.

  5. Will add to TBR based on your (not very descriptive) review alone 🙂 But thanks for not giving away spoilers!! 🙂

    • I make a point not to write descriptive reviews, because I don’t like to read them! 🙂 Personally I like to start a book knowing as little about it as possible.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

