Reading Too Much?

March 4, 2010 at 10:36 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 15 Comments

How do you know when you, or someone you love, reads too much?

  • Moss is growing on the back of your head.
  • Your hands refuse to unbend from book-clamping position.
  • You lose circulation from the waist down.
  • Neighborhood children run screaming when you get the mail, because they think you’re a witch.
  • It’s been so long since you watched TV that you think X Files is still running.
  • Librarians visibly react when you walk in – either in pleasure or fear.
  • You know instinctively how to find a book because you memorized the Dewey Decimal system so long ago.
  • You think in text.
  • Audio books take up more space on your iPod than music or photos.
  • When someone asks if you’ve seen a movie, everyone recites along with you, “No, but I read the book.”
  • You anticipate the Booker and Pulitzer award announcements but can’t tell the Super Bowl from the World Series or the Grammys from the Emmys.
  • When you move, it’s a given you’ll have more boxes of books than clothes or cookware.
  • Your computer is nearly a decade old but you’re saving for the next-generation e-reader first.
  • The bar code sticker is wearing off your library card.
  • There is a designated space on your bookshelf for library books.
  • You track your reading on a spreadsheet.
  • You keep any kind of list of books read or to read.
  • You know the meaning of the acronym TBR and sigh when you hear it.
  • There are books stacked next to your bed.
  • There are books stacked in your bathroom.  (Hi Grandma!)
  • You would consider purchasing a device that allowed reading in the shower.
  • When reading while eating, you’re more likely to let your food go cold than leave your page unturned.
  • When you pick up a book, the dog runs over because he knows it’s couch time.
  • You read standing up.
  • You read while walking.
  • You’ve read during sex.  Or wished you could.

Can you think of any I missed?

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha ha. The moving one is so true of me! And everytime I sit down to read, before long I have a cat lounging on me. They know books mean cuddle time!

  2. I’d be lying if I said hubby and I hadn’t joked about that last one. Sometimes it’s a tough call!

    • Seems like maybe you two could cut a deal…

      • I guess it could depend on WHAT BOOK you are reading? 😛

  3. I can relate to a few of those.

  4. I have read at red lights, my kids have almost been late to school because I had to finish a chapter, and my tbr list is so long that at 100 books a year it would take me 5 years to read them all–if I didn’t add anything to it!

  5. I’m guilty of already being geared up for the Pulitzer annnouncements, usually having a beat-up library card and uh, wondering about that last one.

  6. I love this post!

  7. So true! I can’t count the boxes of books I haven’t even opened from last time we moved. And the last one, so true!

  8. I love this as well, all of them!

  9. People at parties GROAN and when you ask, “Anyone read a good book lately?”

  10. This is FANTASTIC!

  11. Also, Do you mind if I copy this on my blog (I’ll link back here of course!)?

    • Any time! We’re here to entertain.

  12. I saw this from Heather’s blog, and came over here! In addition to the fact that movers hate me because I have so many books (we’ve lived in three different states in the last 4 years), I was just reminded of the funny chapter in David Sedaris’ book “Me Talk Pretty One Day” when he worked as a professional mover and hating people who had a lot of books.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

