“Mindless Eating”

February 15, 2010 at 12:41 am | Posted in Nonfiction, Slow Food | 3 Comments

The best of pop psychology, funny, fascinating, and with a bit of a Candid Camera sensibility, Mindless Eating makes a great read even if you don’t find the topic relevant.  Honestly, though, how many of us can claim we never eat mindlessly?

Product Details

I listened to Brian Wansink’s book on audio, mostly while cooking.  Luckily for me, food prep makes me less likely to snack, perhaps because raw onions aren’t very good.  I can vouch that the narration is superior, and the only bad thing about it is that it’s hard to turn off.

What you’ll learn from the book is that no matter how bright you are, no matter how dedicated you are to healthy eating, there are pitfalls and snares to trip you up at every turn.  I’ll summarize the points that seem the most helpful for my family.

  • Identifying a few small ways that extra calories tend to creep into your mouth can help you effortlessly lose about 10 pounds a year.
  • It’s best to dish up meals directly onto the plates, putting serving platters on the table only for salad and other vegetables.
  • Smaller plates and bowls, and tall skinny glasses, help us dish up less.
  • Make half your plate salad and vegetables.
  • One person in the family is usually the “nutritional gatekeeper” who does most of the meal planning, shopping, and cooking.  That person has a lot of say over whether the family is fat or healthy.

I’m in my skinny jeans again – size 4! – since it appears that I only really snacked and ate junk food in the office.  I’m good at keeping it out of my shopping cart and my cupboards.  My dear hubby is in a weight loss contest at work, with two months to go.  I’ll use what I learned from Mindless Eating to see if my role as nutritional gatekeeper can help him along.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, size 4! I outgrew that size in 2nd grade.

    This sounds like an interesting book with helpful and down-to-earth tips; thanks for the review. And good luck to the mister and his weight loss contest!

    • I think the current “size 4” is equivalent to maybe a 1980’s size 8 or 10. But it sure sounds good!

  2. I read this book last year and found it a great help. I had already cut back on snacking but I hadn’t thought about some of the things he mentions. I’ve managed to lose all the extra pounds I had put on due to work travel, which was a great relief!

    And some of the experiments were hilarious! I especially loved the soup one 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

