My Top Ten

January 8, 2010 at 3:18 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

It took me a while to choose 10 out of 500 books, let me tell you.  At first I thought I couldn’t do it at all.  It would have been far easier to weed out the “worst 10” and tell you just to read the remaining 490, but that would have been something of a cop-out.

Personal Favorite:  The Flying Troutmans, by Miriam Toews

Favorite Nonfiction:  The Samaritan’s Dilemma, by Deborah Stone

Best Book I Would Recommend to My Husband:  Shop Class as Soulcraft, by Matthew Crawford

Best Family Reading Hour Selection:  The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

Best Road Trip Book:  The Magicians, by Lev Grossman

Best Children’s Book:  The Willoughbys, by Lois Lowry

Best Art Book:  What It Is, by Lynda Barry

Favorite Pulitzer winner:  Ironweed, by William Kennedy

Best of the Must-Reads:  Franny and Zooey, by J. D. Salinger

Best Overall: Little Bee, by Chris Cleave

I was fortunate to discover The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series last year; the works of Marjane Satrapi, all of which are equally great; and the hysterical Bigfoot:  I Not Dead by Graham Roumieu.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve read very few of these. I’m going to make sure to change that soon!

  2. Glad to see LITTLE BEE recognized as the best overall. It was also in my top ten for the year (though I only had to choose out of 99…I don’t know how you managed to do this), and I’m always happy to see people talking about it. I’ve been on the fence about picking up SHOP CLASS AS SOULCRAFT, but this has pushed me over. It’s officially on the TBR.

  3. The world seems quite split on The Magician’s with all the reviews I’ve read either being love or hate. I will read it myself and then decide, I guess.

    • Always a good idea, unless you don’t like it and come back and blame me! 😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

