I Did It! Ha Ha Ha! I Did It!

January 1, 2010 at 12:58 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

With thanks to my cheerleaders, my challengers, and above all to my scoffers, I did it!  I read 500 books in one year.

I did it in spite of: getting married, becoming a first-time parent, moving and setting up a new household, taking on a two-hour commute, and hostessing my first Thanksgiving, among other challenges.

I did it because I like challenging myself.  I also did it to prove a point – that you’re never too busy to take time for yourself, do something you find interesting, or most especially, read all the great and wonderful books of your wildest dreams.

Thanks again, everyone, Happy New Year, Happy 2010, and I’ll fill you in this weekend with what-all I read.

!!!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations! I am completely in awe (and perhaps a wee bit envious since I didn’t even manage half of that!).

  2. Congratulations and Happy New Year! I can’t wait to see how you challenge yourself in the coming months.

  3. Oh, wow………..completely wow finish! Did you go right up to midnight? I stopped at 2 a.m. on the 31st and gave myself 22 hours off. By the end of that time, I felt weird, not having a book started. Eagerly looked forward to 12:01.
    Congratulations. It’s been a joy and inspiration to watch you this year.

    • I finished at about 11:30 PM. My first thought was, “Yay, now I can finally get back to that 1000-page Stephen King book that’s been sitting on my nightstand!”

  4. Congratulations Jessica!

  5. Congrats!!!!!! I think we might be the only two bloggers who read that much this year? Anyways yay!!!

    • Congratulations! Let me know if you’d like to take on a literary fiction or nonfiction reading challenge this year!

      • would love to do a literary fiction challenge. last year was more about numbers, this year is more about quality! except for the nancy drew challenge i’m hosting, being more selective about what i’m actually reading

  6. C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S !!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

