“Asterios Polyp”

December 2, 2009 at 9:39 am | Posted in Fiction | 4 Comments

Coolest graphic novel ever.

Product Details

If this is really David Mazzucchelli’s first graphic novel, I think I’ve just died and gone to heaven.  I can’t say enough good things about this book.  The drawings are excellent, the layout is really innovative, the dialogue is great, the storyline is fascinating, and the subject matter will suck you in so that time stops and you forget you’re turning pages.

Asterios Polyp is one of the most multi-faceted characters I’ve ever seen in a graphic novel.  The supporting cast are just as believable.  Mazzucchelli has a neat trick of drawing characters in different styles, and writing their dialogue in different fonts.  I just can’t rave about it enough – he even gets the punctuation right!  (Which as we know is a real weak point in the graphic novel world).  [Though, since I’m being nitpicky, he does misspell Nietzsche in really big letters].  If you only read one graphic novel in your life (well, okay, except Maus) then read this one.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. easily one of my favorite books of the year. i absolutely loved it. so glad you loved it too!

  2. Wow! Now I feel like I need to read it!

  3. This book is on the NYTimes Notable list, too, but I don’t trust that list at all, so I’m glad to see you recommending this one. I’ve got to try it!

  4. I really enjoyed reading your blog. Kept my interest and was easy to understand. Good Job!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

