“Nemesis”

November 20, 2009 at 6:03 pm | Posted in Fiction | 2 Comments

Mystery fans rejoice!  Here’s one so awesome I think I can say that it edges out Stieg Larsson.  Just by a hair.

Product Details

Nemesis, by Norwegian writer Jo Nesbo, has got a tightly wound plot that keeps revealing its many layers far past the point when you first think you have it all figured out.  I enjoy a good mystery.  This was a great mystery, and I bow in the presence of such mastery.  It’s got that dark atmosphere we appreciated so much in Larsson’s Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, and while I think Larsson’s characters shine more, Nesbo’s writing is more assured.  If you liked one, you’ll almost assuredly like the other.

I discovered Nemesis on Publishers Weekly‘s list of the best books of 2009.  I think it’s safe to say that this is the book to bring when you are trying to escape your family over Thanksgiving weekend.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s interesting, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually read a mystery book… At least, not a real one. I’ve read “chapter book” mysteries but I think I was about ten at the time. I’ll have to see about this (and “Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” too, I suppose…).

    • Wow! I’m stunned. I’d love to hear your response as an adult meeting the genre for the first time – you should do an entire post about it, actually!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

