400!

October 28, 2009 at 8:45 am | Posted in Book Blather, Challenges | 6 Comments

It’s another milestone.  (Did I almost just type millstone?)  Today I finished Girl in a Blue Dress, my 400th book for the year.  Last year I finished book #400 on December 22nd.

As you all know by now, I’ve been trying to read 500 books this year.  This means I have 64 days to read the last 100 books.  That’s one a day on weekdays (46) plus three a day on 18 weekend days.  (I’m not counting the holidays because for some reason I always seem to read far less on vacation days).  Hmm.  It sounds like I’ll really be pushing it – especially because I have some very lengthy books in my future. 

I still have 41 Pulitzers, with an average length of 440 pages, including the 1056 page Executioner’s Song.  I’m also flailing against the bounds of reason as I try to complete my Too Big to Ignore Anymore challenge by November 15:  If I do them all, I have over 7500 pages to go, or 420 pages per day.  I think I can just manage to do it, but it will bring my total book count down.  There’s also The Faerie Queene for another challenge, and Under the Dome, which we all know will be impossible to leave alone.

If I can pull this thing off at this point, it will be a miracle.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, congratulations! Good luck with the final 100!

  2. Wow – I’m still in the 370’s. I have had no time to read lately between work and school, hopefully I can find some this week and next week!

    • “No time to read,” she says. “No time to read.” Ha! So how come you’re 15000 pages ahead? 😉

  3. I’m on the edge of my seat breathlessly watching you and S. Krishna!

  4. You can do it! Although I’d totally ditch the Pulitzers if I were you and find a ton of shorter books.

  5. Congrats!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

