Hour… 12?!

October 24, 2009 at 4:06 pm | Posted in Book Blather, Challenges | 2 Comments

How’d that happen?

I’ve just hit the halfway mark in The Recognitions.  I lost a half hour logging in this morning, and then I had a 20-minute lunch break with my man Rocket Scientist.  I don’t think I’m going to hit my goal of finishing by 1 AM.  I think it’s more likely to be 3 AM.  At least I’m confident I can finish it within the 24 hours… I’m doubly glad I didn’t choose The Man Without Qualities, which I was considering last week.

The good news is, this is a really absorbing book.  It’s full of all the things I like: picaresque characters, erudition, long intellectual conversations, a little blasphemy, and the occasional bawdy joke.  [i.e. “It’s okay to kiss a nun as long as you don’t get into the habit.”  Snort].

The bad news is, reading one long involved book takes twice as long as reading a stack of short books and graphic novels.  When I did this in October last year I read 1800 pages, and this time I’m not sure I’ll hit 1000.  Funny, huh?

I’ll check in again after dinner, in a few hours.  I want to thank all the cheerleaders – I get a huge kick out of reading the comments, and I can just see you all pumping your fists in the air!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s not a bad accomplishment, though, if you think about it. I definitely felt the drain when I read a 400 page book verse a 200 page one, but it’s cool that I was able to read them. Keep it up!

  2. Time is sure flying by! It will be over before you know it. Good luck finishing in the time you have set out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

