Hour 1

October 24, 2009 at 5:14 am | Posted in Book Blather, Challenges | 19 Comments

3 facts about me … How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time?

Three facts about me:

I am trying to read 500 books this year.

I got married August 29.

This is my third read-a-thon.

I have one single book in my read-a-thon pile, The Recognitions by William Gaddis, and it’s my goal to read all 956 pages (plus introduction) before 1:00 AM.  My advice to anyone else doing this is to just gut it out, because you’ll have to wait 6 months to try again if you give up.

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, and by the way, I’m reading from Northern California and I’ll be complaining a lot about how we always have to get up at 5 AM.

  2. You are absolutely insane. I read and loved the first 100 pages of The Recognitions last December, but haven’t managed to carry on from that point. Reading the entire thing in one day makes my head want to explode.

    Best of luck to you!

  3. 500 books? I feel like such a slacker! Good luck with your read-a-thon reading! If it makes you feel any better, it’s 3AM here. 🙂

    • It does, actually!

  4. Good luck with your intimidatingly long book!

  5. 500??? Woah!

  6. Best of luck to you, Jessica. If you can read even close to 500 books in a year, I have no doubts that you can finish 900+ pages in less than 24 hours! 🙂

  7. WOW, I don’t think I could even hold that book UP long enough to read it in one sitting. Good luck!

  8. I’m also impressed by your 500 book goal! I will be lucky to get over 150 this year. best of luck in that, and in reading today!

  9. That is a huge book! Happy reading!

  10. Congrats on your wedding this year! 500 books what a goal I wish you luck on that and the readathon.

  11. Very happy readathon! Enjoy your books and have lots of fun 🙂

    OMG, you’re trying to read 500 books this year?! 2 books a day?! I wonder how many you can knock off during the readathon! You must be a lightning-fast reader for sure.

  12. You’re done with the first third of the read-a-thon!! I hope you’re still enjoying yourself! Keep it up! 😀

  13. Happy Read-a-Thon day! 500 books in one year is quite a goal! Have fun today and I hope you’re enjoying your book 🙂

  14. just keep reading,
    just keep reading,
    just keep reading reading reading,
    what do we do we read read,

    Oh ho ho ho i love to read
    when you want to read, you want to read.

    (Sung to the tune of Dory’s Just Keep Swimming from Finding Nemo)

  15. Great afternoon and the leaves are falling, wind is whipping through the trees here in Auburn, Alabama, great time to curl up with that next book and keep on reading!!! Hot chocolate and cookies have got to be around there somewhere!!

    Go Reading,Go Reading,Go Reading!!!
    Rebecca
    the Transcendentalists team!

  16. Reading is fun
    Reading is great
    Hope you’re able
    To stay up late!

    Good luck with your book!

  17. I’m popping by again to offer some more cheering! Give me an R! Give me an E! Give me an A! Give me a D! What does that spell?! Read! Read! Read!

  18. Almost halfway through, and you’re doing great! Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

