Read-a-Thon Stack

October 23, 2009 at 8:33 pm | Posted in Book Blather, Challenges | 2 Comments
"The Recognitions" by William Gaddis

"The Recognitions" by William Gaddis

My “stack” is only one book high this year.  I’m going to do the impossible.  I’m going to get up at 4:30 AM* and read a 956-page book cover to cover.  It’s The Recognitions, by William Gaddis, and it’s about art fraud.  I’m quite pleased that I read Seven Days in the Art World recently, though it’s entirely possible this book will go over my head anyway.

I read about 50 pages an hour on average, so if that holds up then I should finish this baby around midnight.  Then I’ll be free to read graphic novels or whatever I find lying around.

*I try to be showered and dressed before 5 AM so I can get a good start right at the deadline.  The last couple of times, though, I’ve had trouble getting online to make my initial post, so I’m giving myself 15 minutes more than usual.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is one chunky monkey!

  2. Damn… I’ve stalled on pg 649 for the last 4 months on this same edition and having a hell of a time getting back to it. But it hss been a great book, so far!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

