“Fear the Worst”

October 19, 2009 at 2:02 pm | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment

Fear the Worst, by Linwood Barclay, is a terrific thriller.  While the plot – dad searches for missing daughter – is rather common for an action story, the character development is impressive.

Product Details

Tim Blake begins the story as a feckless, naive man.  Gradually he wakes up to the complex web around him.  Again and again, tangential people in his life turn out to be integral to events of which he was completely oblivious.  I found the tightly paced plot to be something of a vehicle for the awakening of Tim Blake.

I read this thing in, I think, 4 or 5 hours.  I carried it around the house when I had to do other things so I wouldn’t lose track of it.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I read this one last week. I flew through it as well!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

