1000? 1000? 1000 Books a Year!

October 13, 2009 at 4:03 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 5 Comments

Never mind.  I quit.

I just did a Google search on “1000 books a year” and came up with several people who claim either to have done it or regularly do it.  (Usually they are blog commenters and you have to skim down to find their quotes).

This person was inspired by a religious leader to read more.

waywardclam has ADD and read quite a bit in school, though no longer.

presidentsherrill does it in only two hours a day.

This fellow did it for a couple of years.

This gal routinely reads 500-1000.

This other guy says “there are many of us” who read 500-1000 a year.

(As an historian, I can’t help but wish for some documentation here…)

I wanted to rant.  I wanted to mock “speed readers” and I wanted to crush light genre fiction with my elegantly curved little thumb.

But I give up.  I have no way of knowing what all these other people are reading, what they do for a living, how bright they are, or how much they give to charity.  What it comes down to is that there are plenty of people who read vast quantities more than I do.

And good for them.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My totals (as I grope my way towards 100, which is big for me) have been greatly helped by reading YA and graphic novels. If it’s between covers, I’m counting it, but I’ve read some big stuff, too.

    I have to wonder about these people…

  2. You’re way ahead of me (grin). Since I’ve been keeping a list of the books I’ve read for the last 3 years I also wonder about people who claim to read such huge numbers of books… and I wonder what they are reading.

  3. I decided to set a goal this year as well and so far I’ve discovered that the likelihood of reaching it is slim and getting slimmer. Your achievement is incredible either way and ultimately you’ll have read scores of excellent books. You win both ways.

    • Good point! Thank you! Sometimes I get so caught up in wishing I had read certain things that I forget about the ones I have read.

  4. Sometimes I’m jealous of fast readers because there are so many great books to read, but mostly I’m happy to spend a few days or even a week or more with a book and really think about it. Guess I’m just making the most of what “talent” I do have!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

