“This is Where I Leave You”

October 5, 2009 at 1:05 pm | Posted in Fiction | 1 Comment

I almost missed reading this one.  Theoretically I should be focusing on the Pulitzers right now, since I still have 50 left.  Something made me throw caution to the winds, though, and I’m thrilled, because This is Where I Leave You is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year.  Jonathan Tropper is going places.

Product Details

It starts with the dialogue.  It’s pitch-perfect and hilarious.  My family also has a daughter and two sons, and our interactions with each other are oddly similar.  Anyone with a family of any description will feel right at home here.

This book is deeply funny, but also a little heartbreaking.  Beyond that, there are moments of startling honesty and clarity.  I absolutely loved it and I might even read it again.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely want to read this one. Glad you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

