Kids Reading!

September 30, 2009 at 8:42 am | Posted in Reading with Kids | 1 Comment

As an update to an earlier post this week, I spoke with my coworker who wanted his third-grader to read more.  I am happy to report that he took his son to the library and got him his first library card!  They spent two hours there, and my friend found that his own library card was so old it wasn’t recognized in the system any more.  He replaced this card, which he had carried in his wallet – unused – for nearly 30 years, and used it to check out a book for the neighbor boy who came on the trip.

Curiosity overwhelmed me; I had to know what a third-grade boy would want to take home on his first trip to the library.  It turns out to have been Star Wars books.  I said, “Great!”  There’s an entire Star Wars franchise, and he could most likely read Star Wars books written for different ages for the rest of his life.

One conversation, two new library cards, three patrons, and three books.  It’s a win!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay! I love this! We have many Star Wars books in the house, acquired by my husband over the years.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

