“The Magicians”

September 23, 2009 at 9:56 am | Posted in Fantasy, Fiction | 5 Comments

We read The Magicians during our honeymoon road trip, and I have to tell you, it’s now one of my favorite books ever.  I don’t care what they say about this book, it would be impossible to over-rate it.  We were transported.

Product Details

That being said, if you’re not a die-hard, lifelong lover of children’s fantasy novels, don’t read it.

The great thing about The Magicians is that it’s a fantasy novel about fantasy novels.  I think it succeeds on both levels.  The other great thing about it is its blend of high-falutin intellectual conversations and hipness.  It’s decadent, dissolute, yet it has this untouchable innocence at its heart.  Imagine Bad Santa clapping for Tinkerbelle.

My heart is in my throat waiting for Lev Grossman’s next.  Please let there be another.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’ve just bumped this book up to the top of my TBR list. I do so want to read it! Beautiful cover, too.

  2. What a recommendation! I can’t say I’ve ever been a die-hard fan of children’s fantasy novels, but this one might tip me in that direction.

  3. Sounds like an interesting read, great write up and the book looks good aswell.

  4. Wow–what a fantastic and concise review! To the top of my list, too, this goes.

  5. Woo, what a relief! I really wanted to read this one, and it was picked as our next book club pick, then I heard some bad things about it. So I’m glad you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

