High School English If I Taught It

August 13, 2009 at 9:19 am | Posted in Book Blather, Reading with Kids | 3 Comments

It’s that time of year again, with the difference being that suddenly I find myself the stepmother of a high school student.  We went shopping for school clothes last weekend.  It got me thinking about those hallowed halls and the halcyon hiatus of hortatory hustle.  I’ve thought of teaching school off and on, though what hampers me is the need to follow a legislated curriculum rather than teaching kids what I wish I’d known at that age.  What follows is my fantasy syllabus of the Most Scandalous Exciting Lit Class Ever.

The Wasp Factory, by Iain Banks.

I Love You, Beth Cooper, by Larry Doyle.

Cruddy, by Lynda Barry.

Girlfriend in a Coma, by Douglas Coupland.

The Cheese Monkeys, by Chip Kidd.

The Monkey Wrench Gang, by Edward Abbey.

And, just for fun, a bit of nonfiction: How to Be Idle, by Tom Hodgkinson.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d sign up for your class and I’d never be late or absent.

    • Aww! Then you can have an A+.

  2. I am a high school lit teacher and stumbled on your blog- you’ll be glad to know that my class is reading The Monkey Wrench Gang this term- wish you could be here….


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

