Reading Roundup

August 11, 2009 at 8:44 am | Posted in Book Blather | Leave a comment

Here’s what I read last week.

You Are Being Lied To is the first of a series of essay collections covering a broad array of alternative news topics.  Great for conspiracy wonks.  This book was so enormous that I think it would hit at least 600 pages in a more ordinary format.  I think I’m going to wait until next year to continue the series.

Timbuktu is a graphic abridgement of Paul Auster’s novel.  I’m not sure I’d qualify it as a children’s book!  The artwork has a dark, brooding quality.  This was my first introduction to Auster’s work, so I’m not sure how it compares to the rest of his oeuvre.

Olive Kitteridge is this year’s Pulitzer Prize winner.  I can’t say enough good things about this book.  I loved it.  I think it would make an excellent book club pick, too.

The Wasp Factory was Iain Banks’s first novel.  I wanted to read it after loving The Crow Road earlier this year.  It should be on the list of Top Ten Least Likely to Be Assigned to High School Lit Classes.  Banks has a real genius for black comedy.

The Glister was on the Amazon Significant Seven for March this year.  It’s an atmospheric, intellectual horror novel.

The End of the World As We Know It was Robert Goolrick’s memoir and first publishing effort.  After reading A Reliable Wife, I had to read it.  Wow, did it ever leave a different impression!  This is not a book to read before bedtime, folks.

The Ones You Do was an early novel by Daniel Woodrell, whose Give Us a Kiss I loved a few years back.  He has an amazing gift for language.  I’m kicking myself, though, because I didn’t do due diligence and it turns out TOYD is the third of a trilogy.  I hate reading things out of order.

Pride is the first of the Seven Deadly Sins series I read earlier this year for the Read-a-Thon.  I had trouble finding it; my library only had the other six.  I will cop to having a renewed interest in racial identity issues since the election hubbub last year.

Right now I’m reading The Elegance of the Hedgehog and loving it.  If it’s in your stack, move it to the top!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

