Week in Books

August 3, 2009 at 9:56 am | Posted in Book Blather | 2 Comments

I was a little weak in books, actually.  I’m trying to read Cryptonomicon and it’s going slowly.  It’s so heavy I feel like I need a truss just to carry it around.

Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven – A new take on the travel memoir, this one is spine-chilling.  You have to know that not everyone’s travel adventure goes well.  Gilman had me climbing the walls in suspense with her particular travel horror story.  If it was a novel you wouldn’t believe it.

The Big Skinny – This was awesome.  I hesitate what to call it.  The best I can come up with is ‘cartoon diet book’ but that somehow detracts from its awesomeness.  I read it and my man Rocket Scientist picked it up, though he pretty much never reads graphic novels or their ilk.  The Big Skinny is the story of how Carol Lay lost a bunch of weight and kept it off.  It’s engaging and believable – we’ve both lost weight and kept it off, and it looked like it would work to us.

The Messiah of Stockholm – A tiny literary gem about a book reviewer and the lost classic written by his father.  Is he or is he not caught up in a case of art fraud?

Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead – This was one morbid little crack-up.  Perhaps the best of the Virago Modern Classics I have read.

Rats – Robert Sullivan – Because who wouldn’t want to read a book about rats?

How I Became a Famous Novelist – Wait for my review.  No, on second thought, just read it first and get back to me tomorrow.  It doesn’t get better than this.

The Face on Your Plate – Another one I think I will review.  Stirred up quite a debate at my house.  If you’re curious about how a vegan (me) and an omnivore manage to fall in love, get married, and share a kitchen, I’ll give you the scoop.

I’ve got piles of books right now that need seismic refitting.  Cryptonomicon itself could probably use some scaffolding.  Today I’ve got my face in You are Being Lied To, a large-format tome that’s hard to read while walking.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I listened to Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven on audio book a few weeks ago and it was spine-chilling. There were moments when I’d actually gasp out loud and talk back to the book because I couldn’t believe what was happening to Susan and Claire. I thought it was very, very good.

  2. Oh, gosh, I loved “Rats.” I LOVE Robert Sullivan. He’s written another hilarious little book you should read titled “How Not to Get Rich.” It’s really short and would contribute enjoyably to your 500 book goal, I think!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

