My Week in Books

July 28, 2009 at 3:42 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 1 Comment

Can it be that I was still finishing Beat the Reaper the last time I posted a list of what I was reading?  I guess 11 books is a bigger stack than I realized.  Anyway, here’s the rundown.

Beat the Reaper was yet more awesome than I even hoped.  It ended with one of the most stunning scenes in literature.

Why is God Laughing? is a book by Deepak Chopra with an introduction by Mike Meyers.  It would be a good gift for anyone who likes Mitch Albom.  It had a bunch of jokes which I’ve been trying out on my long-suffering coworkers.

The Father of All Things was amazing.  I’m going to read Tom Bissell’s collection of short stories, God Lives in St. Petersburg, in the next couple of weeks or so.

I read Crimes Against Logic with my man Rocket Scientist, and we’ve been riffing off it for two weeks.  We had issues with it, but it’s definitely gotten us talking.

So Big is one of my favorite Pulitzer winners so far.  It’s easy to see why it’s been adapted into film so many times.  I have no idea which version to watch, though.

The City and the City by China Mieville was exactly what a sci fi fan hopes for.  It’s based on a really cool concept, it’s set in a fully realized universe, and it has a gripping plot.  I’m gonna read Perdido Street Station next year.

Locke & Key: Welcome to Lovecraft is the first of what looks to be a trilogy of graphic novels written by my crush, Joe Hill.  This is the real thing, baby.  The illustrations are fantastic, but the script would hold up on its own, which I think is rare for a graphic novel.  What’s next, Joe Hill?  A board game?  What medium can’t you do?

Weetzie Bat is something you should all rush out and read as soon as possible.  When I found out this gem of a book was the first of a series I felt like it was my birthday all over again.

The Blue Guide to Indiana was a funny little book.  It’s a farcical travel guide.  There should be more of these.  I imagine it would only be funnier for people who’ve been to Indiana.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth was our Family Reading Hour book last week.  It set us off on a protracted discussion of disaster planning.  Look out for a later post on zombies, vampires, werewolves, FEMA, and you.

The StrainThe StrainThe effin’ Strain!  I am telling you right now, this is a world-class horror novel.  You can just see it as a movie already.  Guillermo Del Toro definitely has the cinematographic eye.  Chuck Hogan could, no doubt, write anything.  Holy smoke what a book.  I wish I could read it all over again, but now I know all the plot twists.

Sheila Levine is Dead and Living in New York was sort of the female Portnoy’s Complaint.  It’s a sort of anti-chick lit.  It’s still readable, though a touch dated, but it manages to be quite funny in spite of its morbid subject matter.

I’m about a third of the way through Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven.  It is superb.  It’s the fishy pale underbelly of travel.

My stack is starting to sway a bit in the breeze.  I’m behind in my Pulitzers, and I have one that’s four volumes down the list from the San Francisco library, where it’s due this Saturday.  I could read it out of order; I could renew it; or I could skip the first two volumes of Louis Bromfield and just read Early Autumn.  I’m also supposed to have Sodom and Gomorrah finished – if I don’t get through it I’ll never finish Proust, and we can’t have that.  What to read, what to read?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, you are really moving through books. Color me impressed! (Whatever color that is.)
    I’m SO, SO glad you liked the Bissell. I think he’s a supertalent. I hope you like the story collection too–I can’t wait to hear what you think. I had some definite ideas about it but I’ll hold back until I hear your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

