The M Word

June 2, 2009 at 2:27 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 2 Comments

Moving.  That’s the M word.  Moving is so dreadful it’s hard to pick what’s the worst part.  Is it packing, when you realize you really have to transport every postage stamp and piece of furniture out the doors?  Moving itself, with its hours and hours of back-breaking physical labor?  Cleaning the oven of your old home, knowing you’ll never use it again?  Or unpacking, when you don’t know which boxes all your books are in?

I don’t know.  All I do know is that one of my friends accidentally snapped off a leg on my bookcase.  Currently it’s lying on its side on the living room floor (which I would do, too, if someone snapped my leg off).  All the books are boxed up in the garage.  It’s quite poignant, really.

Oh, don’t get me wrong.  Starting a new life is exciting and everything.  I’m just so tired right now that it’s not really penetrating.  And I only read 30 pages yesterday.  It feels like I’ll never have leisure time again.  Or figure out where I put the silverware.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so sorry and I perfectly understand how you are feeling. The last time we moved we had friends come and help us load. When we unpacked we discovered some damage due to the loading, especially on the legs of three dining room chairs where a rope was used in such a way that it was allowed to “saw” into the wood. You can’t really say a thing because they were trying to help and it was accidental but I will always know the damage is there.

    • I’ve got a better one than that. RS accidentally sawed three slices into the top of my dining table while cutting bread! I’d only had the table for a few weeks. But the shocked look on his face when he realized what he’d done was so funny it made up for it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

