“American Nerd”

May 13, 2009 at 8:40 am | Posted in Nonfiction | 3 Comments

Which is nerdier – writing a book like American Nerd, or reading it in one sitting?

Product Details

Benjamin Nugent achieves the sublime: this nerdy book about nerds sounds like a Saturday Night Live joke, yet it’s also compulsively readable.  It’s a study of what makes a nerd, as opposed to any other social category.  Admittedly, I have been wondering about this question since I was no older than nine, so I was quite intrigued with Nugent’s analysis.

It’s not a memoir or a celebration of nerdiness, not to say that I wouldn’t read one of those.  It’s a sociology thing.  I would rank it right up there with Freakonomics and Blink for its engaging take and fresh insights.  Plus it’s short.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So glad to hear you liked this one! It’s been on my list for a while but may have to be bumped up now. Rock on with your nerdy self!

  2. I just saw a comment you left on a Chuck Norris thread.

    Made me smile.

  3. This looks like the type of book I’d enjoy reading. It’d be interesting to read his point of view on what makes a nerd! I have my guesses, though.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

