“Disquiet”

May 12, 2009 at 10:56 am | Posted in Fiction | 3 Comments

Disquiet is, without a doubt, the absolute creepiest non-supernatural book I have ever read.  Hooray!

Product Details

Fans of horror tend to get a bit jaded.  It takes more and more to impress us.  Yet this itty-bitty book acted on my system like a bee’s stinger – just as tiny and just as potent.  Its measured pace and refined setting serve to deliver the dreadful stuff all the more effectively.

I hesitate to admit that I enjoyed this book as much as I did – and when you read it, you’ll understand why – but it was stunning.  I’m going to look for Julia Leigh’s previous book, The Hunter, and wait eagerly for her next offering.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I enjoyed this book quite a bit as well!

  2. Very creepy. I can’t say that I “liked” it, it was a bit weird for me, but I’m always thankful when lit fic authors can write a short little novel (as compared to behemoth novels by authors like Wally Lamb and Roberto Bolano).

  3. What an excellent review! Love the similes.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

