Rexing for Indexing

May 6, 2009 at 11:21 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 4 Comments

Our library card catalog is down.  They had some kind of major equipment failure.

This is driving me up a tree.  I went online last night to reserve a book, and assumed I was just having network problems when it didn’t work.  It’s still out, and they have no idea when it will be up and running again.

How am I supposed to reserve books?  What if I hear about a new book and I want to see if they have it in stock?  Waaaah!

Yes, I am old enough to remember old wooden drawers full of typed index cards.  Yes, I know having electronic records is an improvement over that.  But you see, I’m an addict now and I want accessibility.  Schnif.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I still remember when our library had card cataloges. I recall being taught in grade school how to use them! When the San Francisco library quit using theirs, the librarians wrote notes on all the cards and they decorated the walls with them; I saw this. It was very cool and entertaining while waiting in line at the call desk.

  2. I’ve seen that wall, too. I wish I was there right now!

  3. When that happens at my library, people always just call us. We write it down and put the holds on when the system comes back up. We checkout books the same way. I don’t know about other library systems.

  4. I LOVED those drawers! Not too long ago a friend of mine picked up a set of them in an auction and now every time I visit her I’m reminded of primary school. Not to mention how stunning they look in living room. Of course not that any of this rambling fixes your problem!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

