Oops

April 22, 2009 at 4:05 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 2 Comments

I’ve been in a rut the last week or so.  I keep feeling like no matter how much I read, I’m just not getting anywhere.  Today I figured out why.

I track my reading in a spreadsheet, including the page count and the high and low price for each book.  Somehow as I was adjusting the cell range for my total, I was moving the selection area down one row at a time rather than expanding it.  In this way I “lost” nearly 2500 pages!  I finally realized something was up because I had been stuck at around 40,000 pages all week, and my count for today went down instead of up.

The funny part is that some people read about 2500 pages over the course of the entire year.

Right now I’m averaging about 382 pages per day.  At that rate I will have read very nearly 140,000 pages by the end of the year.  I should also have cleared 450 titles.  Since I’m trying for 500, this is not encouraging news.  I’ll have to find a way to read an additional book and a half per week on top of what I’ve been doing.

There is a bright side, though, as last year it took me until May 17 to read as many books as I have so far this year.  In that sense, I’m almost a month ahead!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are still SOOOO far ahead of me its not even funny! You are my reading idol!

  2. Whoa! 382 pages per day is incredible. Awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

