My Stack

April 18, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 7 Comments

Man!  I get up at 4:45 am and my computer wants nothing to do with me!  First it freezes up just as I’ve logged in; then I reboot and think I’ve totally crashed, forgetting the memory card for my camera is still inserted; I figure that out, and then the rechargeable batteries in my optical mouse die!  Grrrrumble mumble mumble hate mornings mumble move to East Coast shtumble…

Anyway, here’s my stack.  You might notice it’s a bit dark.  That’s because, the sun, is smart enough, not to be up yet.

Oops, was that my out loud voice?

Read-a-Thon Stack, April 2009

Read-a-Thon Stack, April 2009

The other problem is that I’m at my house.  Last time I stayed at Rocket Scientist’s house.  He’d be the one with the nice computer, new camera, and fast internet connection.  And the pancakes, which I could use right now.

Here’s what you should be seeing:

my PDA, to track my time

Suze Orman’s 2009 Action Plan

Envy – Joseph Epstein

Anger – Robert A.F. Thurman

Greed – Phyllis A. Tickle

Gluttony – Francine Prose

Anti-Bride Etiquette Guide – Carolyn Gerin and Kathleen Hughes

Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned – Wells Tower

The Song is You – Arthur Phillips

A Great Idea at the Time – Alex Beam

The Darkest Place – Daniel Judson

Five books at the top of the list are part of a series on the seven deadly sins.  The Sonoma County Library has no Pride.  There, I’ve said it.  I guess after someone loses a book, it only stays in the library system for a few years before the very record of it vanishes.  I also couldn’t seem to get ahold of Lust.  Out of four copies, they tried to send me the one from the furthest branch, about 80 miles away.  So there are only seven deadly sins.  Give me time and maybe I can whittle it down to three.

Anyway, I’m going to start reading now.  Either that or fall asleep on my couch with my mouth open.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Go, Jessica! This is your chance to catch up with your rival, S. Krishna! Rah! Rah! (throat clearing) Sorry, not quite there yet on the cheerleading, but I do love your stack, esp. all the deadly sin books. Have fun..maybe you could get pancakes delivered?

  2. I hope your computer starts behaving! 🙂 Good luck reading!

  3. Maybe you could order out for pancakes? Happy reading.

  4. Yikes with the technological malfunctions! Hope everything’s squared away and acts properly (obeys commands, etc.) the rest of the time. Maybe he’ll bring pancakes to you?

  5. oh i really like the anti-bride etiquette book. very smart and quippy with cute pictures. also helpful and informative. happy reading!

  6. Lots of one-word titles you have on deck. They sound good! Have fun!

  7. WOW, great stack of books!!! Good luck and happy reading!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

