“Anger” and “Sloth”

April 18, 2009 at 4:07 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Wow, these skinny little books are panning out nicely!

Anger takes the Buddhist perspective on how to deal with this destructive emotion.  I enjoyed it, but there were sections I was only able to follow because I have some familiarity with the concepts.

Sloth was snort-inducingly funny!  Wendy Wasserstein took the perspective that sloth is actually something to be indulged and isn’t particularly a sin at all.  I laughed at nearly every sentence.  I could only wish the book was longer, but that’s hardly in keeping with the nature of sloth.  She would probably approve the fact that I read it in my PJs.

Now I’m reading Greed and finding that the notes make up nearly half the length of the book.  It’s… erudite.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha ha! I’ve been saying “what’s so bad about sloth” for years! I’ll have to read that book.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

