A Challenge?

April 6, 2009 at 4:51 pm | Posted in Challenges | 6 Comments

Ahh, it looks like we may finally be seeing some real action in the world of books.  S. Krishna and I have a tentative challenge to see who can read the most books this year.

Right now I’m 10 days ahead of where I was last year, in spite of going on vacation and bringing home a nasty virus.  Oh, and now I’ll be planning a wedding and setting up housekeeping!  Not that I’m trying to set the bar low or anything, just trying to make myself look unintimidating.

So should we have any rules for this thing?  Right now I track what I’ve read and the number of pages according to Amazon.com.  I post the average number of pages per day and pages per book.  Sometimes I read very short books, but they go into my average along with the very long books, so I figure it balances out.  I read about 45% nonfiction, with the rest fiction and the occasional graphic novel.  There’s a list of stuff I plan to read this year, though naturally I won’t be able to keep my hands off other stuff that comes my way.  About the only thing I don’t do is re-read things I’ve read in the past, though I would if my book group wanted to.

Anyway, there we have it.  I’m pretty much on track to meet last year’s record of 409 books.  I’d really like to hit 500 but I don’t think it will be possible.  Not until retirement, anyway.

So, what do you think?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think 400+ books is A-MA-ZING! 😀 I’m trying only for 200, myself.

    I’d really enjoy seeing you two battle it out! Go for it!

  2. This should be fun 🙂

    Both of you read so much I feel guilty just by looking at your numbers. But all the best, the more books you both read, the more reviews we get to read 🙂

  3. Haha! Yes! I keep track of pages via Amazon as well. Any ideas for rules? I think # of pages should have more weight than # of books.

  4. Yay! I knew you would do it!

    I agree on total page number. We should start with whatever we’ve read since January 1 this year and end at midnight on December 31. We can post how we did at the start of 2010.

    Maybe we could have our readers vote on categories, like Weirdest Title or Most Prize-Winners or something.

    My only rule would be that pages are all in books, not magazines or newspapers. I’m not too worried about content or type of book. Who would want to waste a year reading nothing but children’s books anyway? We should just read what we would normally read.

    What do you think?

  5. I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

  6. Agreed on the pages in books, but it doesn’t matter what kind of book!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

