Reading Callus

March 16, 2009 at 5:33 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 3 Comments

When I first noticed it, I couldn’t figure out where it came from.  There is a callus between the first and second fingers on my left hand, about the size of a pencil eraser.  There’s nothing corresponding to it on the other side.

“That’s weird,” I thought.  “I wonder where…”  I thought about it for about a week.  Finally I realized that the book I was reading was rubbing on it.

So now we know what happens after a person reads 500 books in 433 days.  Maybe I should stick to audio for a while.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have permanent pen marks on the sides of my fingers. It’s the price we pay for certain hobbies or sad facts of life. It’s a good place to have a callus, though. May it keep your hands from book blistering.

  2. I used to have a callus on my second finger, from holding a pencil so often for drawing. Never got one from books, though- I’d esteem it as an honorable badge of the trade!

  3. Oh cool…I want one!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

