Rebirth of an Indie Bookstore

February 23, 2009 at 5:17 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 5 Comments

Reports of its demise were premature.  The little bookstore in Cloverdale that I covered in an earlier post did not, it turns out, actually close.  It just relocated.  No wonder we didn’t see any signs or close-out sales!  I am equal parts embarrassed and relieved.

Not only did the small town bookstore not close, the reason it moved was to find a storefront with more floor space.

In light of this, some of the statistics look a little different.  It seems that it only takes a population of 8,100, where only 3/4 adults have a high school diploma or higher, to keep a small independent bookstore running.  Suddenly what I thought was bad news turns out to be good news.  Whaddaya think of that?

Naturally I’m going to check out the new space this very weekend.  Maybe I’ll even buy something.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, the existence of any bookstore is good news. I’m not one who gets the whole only indie thing (I buy books from whatever bookstore is most conveniently placed at the moment of said purchases – now as there are no good bookstores in my area, I settle for Amazon), but I think it’s pivotal every town, city, metropolis and village (yes…) have a nice, well stocked bookstore. So whether or not it’s the best business plan, it’s certainly good news.

  2. The indie thing is a bit complicated… When I was in Portland, I shopped at Powell’s, and I found that the chain bookstores never had anything I wanted to read. I mean, not only did they not carry books I was looking for, but I would browse around and not find anything that interested me. Now I shop at Borders, Barnes & Noble, or Amazon because there aren’t really any independent bookstores that are conveniently located.

    The thing about this particular bookstore is that it’s the only place to buy books in about a 15-mile radius. I imagine in many smaller and more remote communities, the distance can be even farther. Large chain bookstores may never bother expanding into towns with fewer than 10,000 people, so we can’t rely on them.

  3. I’m glad that the bookstore is alive. Have fun visiting!

  4. Ooh! Definitely buy something. Serendipity will probably take care of that for you though…

  5. I’m still torn about buying books because of the other two factors, space and time. I’ve got a stack of loaner books I’m trying to work through, and literally not a single slot left in my bookcase.

    Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

