Mini-Break

February 17, 2009 at 5:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

If anyone was wondering what I’ve been up to all week, I had a little mini-vacation.  My man Rocket Scientist went out of town, and my brother and his fabulous girlfriend came to visit me.

On Saturday we went to Alcatraz, and it just so happened that a historian was on site doing a book signing.  I tell you, I can find a book anywhere I go!  Afterward we stopped for a read-and-run at the San Francisco library, so I could finally pick up The Midlander by Booth Tarkington.  I’ll skip the part about how hard it was for me to get ahold of that book, for now anyway.  Then we raced to San Jose to see the Winchester Mystery House, and managed to get there with six minutes to spare before the last tour of the day.  Great fun.

It was my brother’s birthday on Monday, so naturally I got him books.  It seemed funny to pair 1,000 Places to See Before You Die and Peter Greenberg’s Don’t Go There.  My brother’s main goal in life is to sky dive in all 50 states, and most of the time we spend together these days is while on vacation.

Sadly, my guests had to leave at 3AM on Monday.  I got over the loss fairly quickly, though, because it meant I had all day Monday to read.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

