“The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency”

January 31, 2009 at 11:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Okay, I know this book came out to great acclaim in 1998, and thus you’ve most likely already read it.  I just discovered it, though, so bear with me.  I wanted to make sure you knew that the audio version is absolutely delightful.  It’s definitely a case of the narration adding a layer to the experience.

Now, if you haven’t discovered The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, you need to know that the only thing better than reading the book is knowing that it’s the first of a series.  Alexander McCall Smith is a treasure.  He reminds me of P.G. Wodehouse in that it doesn’t matter which title you pick up, you just have to shut the door, snuggle up in a cozy blanket, and absorb.  In both cases, the author has the magical ability to make a person permanently happier.  Even better, they belong to the tribe of prolific authors, so there’s no need to fear running out too soon.  I’m already on the wait list for the second in the series, Tears of the Giraffe.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad to hear that the audiobook is so good. I have read the Sunday Philosophy Club books, but not this series yet.

  2. I just saw the movie they made of the first book and it’s really good too. I highly recommend it.

    Alyce, I found I liked the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency better than the Sunday Philosophy Club (though I only read the first one of that series, vs. three of the Ladies’ books).

  3. I love both the Sunday Philosophy Club series and the 44 Scotland Street books, but for some reason The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency has sat on my bookshelves untouched all these years. I really should pull it out, but now I’m very intrigued by the audiobook version.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

