Bookshelf Meme

January 23, 2009 at 6:32 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 4 Comments

It’s Friday, so let’s do a meme!  I think they’re called that because they’re all about me-me-me-me.

Tell about the book that’s been on your shelves the longest.

This would have to be my copy of Eight Cousins, by Louisa May Alcott.  I must have read that book at least four times.  I can’t even remember exactly which relative gave it to me, but I do know the plot and characters back and forth!  As far as I was concerned, this book was the cornerstone of everyone’s library.

Tell about a book that reminds you of something specific in your life.

I have a signed copy of Women & Money, by Suze Orman.  I drove an hour to go see her read, then stood in line for another 45 minutes to get to meet her.  She is so glamorous!  I stood there before her in clothes that were three sizes too big for me (post-weight loss) and felt like her eyes were laser beams.  At that moment I decided I needed one heck of a makeover.  Then she signed my book, “Stay great!”

A book you acquired in some interesting way.

I have a book sitting there called Carnage and Culture.  It’s not mine.  Rocket Scientist has been trying to get me to read it since before we started dating, and for some reason I still haven’t (about four years later).  It’s quite sad that I have an entire section of bookshelf devoted to books people have lent to me.

Tell about the most recent addition to your shelves.

I bought a copy of The Recognitions by William Gaddis at Powell’s Books on my last trip to Portland.  I could have gotten it from the San Francisco library, but I figured it might take me more than three weeks to get through a thousand page book.

Tell about a book that has been with you the most places.

The book that has been with me the most places would probably be the copy of Linda Goodman’s Sun Signs I appropriated from my mom.  (I replaced it, but I don’t think she’s read it since the ’70s).  This poor book looks like it was abandoned in a dog kennel.  The cover is completely wrinkled and held together with tape.  I’m pretty careful with books, so I don’t really have an explanation for why it’s in such bad condition.  I should probably recycle it or something.

Tell about a bonus book that doesn’t fit any of the above questions.

My copy of The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyzyn is probably the most interesting volume on my shelves.  I’ve completely annotated it.  The book is arranged chronologically, as it’s a compilation of newsletters, so there’s no real system.  This makes it fascinating to read, but difficult to use as a reference.  I have all these purple post-it tabs sticking out, with notes about particular articles.  There are Bibles out there with fewer notes, I assure you.

I avoid accumulating books.  They all need to fit in one bookshelf, and at this moment over half the books there are either library books, books that belong to other people, or paperbacks that are meant to circulate through our book group when I’ve read them.  The reason I keep so few books long term is that I don’t want to wind up like poor Patrice Moore.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That article about Mr. Moore is the most astonishing thing I have read in a long time. Wow.

  2. Oh man, I LOVE the Tightwad Gazette! And funny that you should compare it to the Bible. My husband and I often ask ourselves WWAD (What Would Amy Do). 🙂

  3. I love The Tightwad Gazette! I brought it with me to Korea.

  4. I loved reading 8 Cousins when I was younger. Louisa May Alcott has a way of thwarting me in the romance department. She did it with Jo and Laurie and she did it to me again with this book.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

