“Hairstyles of the Damned”

December 8, 2008 at 7:14 pm | Posted in Fiction | 2 Comments

Can I just share with you that I really loved this book?  It’s one of those things where you keep seeing a book everywhere, then you finally read it just to find out what it’s about, and it winds up being even better than you expected.  I’m starting to believe that where there’s fuss, there’s fire.

Now there’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and that’s to try to write a review in the style of a book, so here goes:

So I was reading this one book, and it like blew my mind for some reason.  Maybe it’s because it sounds like how people actually talk, or something.  Like, it had all kinds of swearing and people kicking walls and stuff, which let’s face it is pretty realistic.  It’s kind of messed up, because it’s probably one of the most realistic books ever but not something they would ever give you to read in school.

Realistic teenage books:

Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger (except the slang is, like, way out of date)

Cruddy – Lynda Barry

anything by Louise Rennison (if you’re British)

I Love You, Beth Cooper – Larry Doyle

Hairstyles of the Damned – Joe Meno (duh)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptCatcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger (except the slang is, like, way out of date). Cruddy – Lynda Barry. anything by Louise Rennison (if you’re British). I Love You, Beth Cooper – Larry Doyle. Hairstyles of the Damned – Joe Meno (duh) … […]

  2. Hmmm, I’ll have to look into this! It’s always interesting when I read about how someone is seeing a book everywhere and I’ve never heard of it. Golly, I take a 10 day break from blogging and the whole world zips by me unnoticed.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

