Booking Through Thursday: 5 for Favorites

December 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm | Posted in Book Blather | 3 Comments

Here is my response to this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

1. Do you have a favorite author?

A single favorite?  No.  How would you pick?  Well, okay, maybe Douglas Coupland.

2. Have you read everything he or she has written?

I’ve read everything by Stephen King, Anne Tyler, and Tom Robbins.  As for Coupland, I thought I had read all his fiction but I just discovered he put out a book called God Hates Japan in 2001 that I knew nothing about.

3. Did you LIKE everything?

Yeah, pretty much.  What makes my favorite authors my favorite transcends such arbitrary concerns as, say, quality.  I love King’s writing and his characters, so I care almost nothing about plot.  Everything’s Eventual wasn’t my favorite, though.  Likewise with Anne Tyler – I was lucky enough to realize I would love her before I’d read any of her books, so I was able to read them from If Morning Ever Comes on up chronologically.  I feel like each one has been better than the last.  Tom Robbins just rules.  I adore everything by Coupland, except I could have done without the random poetry parts of Microserfs.

4. How about a least favorite author?

That’s a hard one, because I’m picky and I wouldn’t be likely to read much by someone I didn’t like.  But I guess I could say Dan Brown since I pick on him all the time anyway.

5. An author you wanted to like, but didn’t?

David Wroblewski.  There, I’ve said it.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I haven’t read anything by anyone on your list, how sad is that? I tried part of a Stephen King book once, and it just wasn’t for me. It’s fun to read about so many authors that are new to me though.

  2. Oh, that’s not sad! They’re all late 20th century authors who write for a popular audience. It’s not like there’s any real intellectual cachet there or anything. 🙂

    I really think Anne Tyler is wonderful. My favorite of hers, and one of my favorite books ever, is “Digging to America.” I also loved “The Amateur Marriage.” Just in case you were looking for a recommendation, I’m always willing to proselytize!

  3. Always take any available digs at Dan Brown. Seriously, that man should not be allowed near a pen. Or a pencil. Or any writing apparatus whatsoever.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

