“Gladiator” – Coming Soon to a Blog Near You

November 21, 2008 at 6:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Well, you asked for it.  I’ve enlisted Rocket Scientist to co-write a post on the historical inaccuracies of the movie Gladiator.  He makes his own armor, after all, so he’s going to help me on the warfare stuff.  Neither of us has seen it in a few years, though it lingers on in memory, so we’re going to watch it this weekend and take vigorous notes.

I’d rather be specific than say things like, “Well, the costumes and armor were all wrong and they shouldn’t have used stirrups.”  That’s not a critique; that’s just complaining.

If the occasion ever arises that we, Faithful Reader, might meet, you might not want to invite me to a movie!  First of all, I like to sit in the very front row.  Second, I often guess at the dialogue, and even though I’m usually – preternaturally – right, it’s pretty obnoxious.  Third, well, if it has any costumes then you’re not going to want to hear me go off on my opinion of them.  These are all reasons why I’ve only seen one movie all year.  Well, that, and the fact that I’ve been busy reading 363 books.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome! And thank you!!!! When I saw Gladiator, I left the theatre with an itch in the back of my head telling me that a lot of it wasn’t quite right. But my 4 years of Latin class were by then a very distant memory, and I couldn’t put my finger on anything specifc. I’m looking forward to seeing what you uncover!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

