“Just After Sunset”

November 18, 2008 at 4:48 pm | Posted in Fiction | 3 Comments

I love Stephen King.  I’d read absolutely anything he wrote.  If he put out a collection of grocery lists or random doodles, I’d read it.  So you might not trust my opinion.  But I want to tell you that Just After Sunset is vintage King.  It makes up for the feeling I had after Everything’s Eventual, that perhaps things were getting a little uneven.

There’s a little bit of everything – a couple of classic ghost stories, a Lovecraftian tale, some suspense, some gore, touches of the supernatural.  There’s a story called “The Cat From Hell” that somehow – how? – missed being anthologized for three decades.  I have two favorites.  “The Gingerbread Girl” is a pulse pounding, edge of the seat, cold sweat inducing thriller that may be one of his best ever.  “A Very Tight Place” is, okay, seriously disgusting, but masterful in its evocation of dread.

I checked the reviews on Amazon and it looks like people are mentioning different stories as their favorites.  This is a good sign.  The story that sticks in my mind long after reading it may not be the same as the one that sticks in your mind.  Either way, if you’re like me you’ll pick up Just After Sunset and everything going on in the world around you will magically fade away to nothing.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I took delivery of my copy today and only the very strong conviction that I really need to finish the book I’m reading at the moment stopped me from diving in immediately; that, and the shameful thought that I haven’t read Duma Key yet…

  2. “Duma Key” was great! Why deprive yourself?

  3. […] After Sunset, by Stephen King as featured on Both Eyes Book Blog (a new blog I have just discovered and love!).  Stephen King is an old favorite of mine. I have […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

