Garth Stein

November 14, 2008 at 4:39 pm | Posted in Book Blather, Fiction | 3 Comments

Guess what?  This week I got to meet Garth Stein, author of The Art of Racing in the Rain!  He came to our town to do a book signing.  It’s funny, for some reason I had waited to review this book, so now that I’ve met the man who wrote it I can take that opportunity.

The Art of Racing in the Rain is told from a dog’s perspective.  Instantly, I thought I would hate it.  But I also thought my mom might like it, so I’d read it to see if it would make a good Christmas gift.  Instead, I found myself falling in love with the story and with Stein’s writing.  His grammar and diction are so perfect that the canine character comes across with an innate dignity that isn’t quite as apparent in the video book trailer.  I am not a Hallmark channel kind of gal, so I kept trying to be skeptical about this story and getting sucked in in spite of myself.  I kept wishing my mom was reading it so I could call her and rant about the actions of some of the characters.

So when Trish told me she’d met Garth Stein at the book expo recently, I was jealous.  I could hardly believe it when she said he was in town.  In person he’s very friendly and charismatic, and, dare I say it of a married man, kinda dishy.  He showed us pictures of his sweet little kids.  Because it was a signing, not a reading, we had him all to ourselves for probably fifteen minutes!  I found myself  telling him about my parrot who died last winter, and we laughed a little about how many people have told him all about their pets dying.  Luckily I’m only half stupid, so I was able to stop talking about myself and ask whether he’s working on another book.  He said he’s been playing around with an idea, but it hasn’t fully crystalized yet.

Garth Stein and The Art of Racing in the Rain: both definitely worth all the fuss.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just finished this book and loved it too. I’m so jealous that you got meet Mr. Stein! I feel in love with his writing and, at least from the picture, I get the dishy comment. 🙂

  2. Oh, I forgot to mention – he’s actually cuter in person than in his author photo. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

